Hearth Money Rolls, Powerscourt, 1668

One of the earliest writings on placenames by the indefatigable Liam Price, historian, scholar and Wicklow judge, was his work on transcribing the Hearth Money Rolls of County Wicklow, which he published in 1931.* Price was a district justice in County Wicklow from the 1920s until the 1950s. His interest in history and antiquities apparently led him to take detours on his way to and from local court sessions to places of interest, where he would record the antiquities, placenames and folklore he found. His transcription of the Hearth Money Rolls were completed from a copy provided to him “through the kindness of Mr. Stanley Lane-Poole, Litt.D., formerly of Dunganstown Castle, Co. Wicklow“, which themselves were copied out by Henry Monck Mason. The original rolls were dated 1668, and list the names of the parishes, and townlands within the County. Unfortunately, “Mr. Mason did not copy out the names of the householders except in the case of a house containing more than one hearth” and so the number of names are more limited than they might otherwise be. It does however, provide a lot of information on the names of townlands and number of significant houses therein. Householders were taxed two shillings for every hearth they owned.


The table below lists the details for the parish of Powerscourt, half barony of Rathdown as transcribed by Price, along with his notes. Placenames and people’s names are left as found. The first column lists houses with one hearth and a chimney, the second lists houses with one hearth and no chimney, and the third lists houses with more than one hearth, and the name of the head of the house. It is likely therefore that the latter are significant houses in each townland.

Townlands in the Parish of "Portscoot"One Hearthdo. no ChimneyMoreRemarks (Henry Monck Mason)Liam Price Notes
Ballinmoyre - 3 houses12-Probably Barnamire
Slancree - 22 houses418-Surely Glancree of mod. Map
Lackanderry - 6 houses-6-Lackendarage in modern map
Bullareagh - 6 houses-6-B.reagh in modern map
The Croughan - 14 houses39-Crone
Banahandq ? If not Bahana of modern map
- John Amacky--2
- George Norris--2
Corbelly - 3 houses-3-Not identified
Ballanegy - 1 house-1-
Glassganey - 3 houses3--Glasskenny in Mod. Map
The Onagh - 1 house1--
Churchtown - 2 houses2--
Annacreveys - 2 houses2--
Killegare - 1 house
- Mr Williams--3
Curtlestowne - 7 houses-7-
Ballebrew - 7 houses52-
The Monastery - 2 houses
- Mr Patrickson--2
- Cornelius Kelly--2
Enniskerry - 3 houses2--
- Wm. Paine--3
Kilgaron - 5 houses31-
- John Townsell--2
Barnasilog - 1 house
- Robert Steele--2
Cookstowne - 7 houses32-
- Ralph Smith--2
- Christ. Carr--2
Portscoot - 7 houses21-
- Mr Burton--2
- Lord Portcoot--14
- Hugh Kelly--3
- Francis Bole--2?Bobie
Lit. Tinnainch - 1 house
- Thomas Evans--2
Tinnainch - 1 house
- Mr Fox--4
Stilbaune - 3 houses2--
- James Nevet--3
Killaugh - 7 houses25-q? If not Killoughal in Mod. Map
Ballahiskin - 3 houses3--
The Killery - 7 houses43-q? If not Callery in Mod. Map
Glangore - 5 houses-5-cp Athgabhar, Wicklow O.S. letters, p. 198, probably part of Calary.
Kilmurry - 11 houses55-
- Capt. Wingfield--2
Killinacanogue - 8 houses16-
- Nich. Walker--2Kilmacanogue in Mod. Map
Glancormey - 9 houses27-Glancormuck of Mod. Map probably
Kilnoney - 8 houses-7-Miswritten for Kilcroney
- Denis Lacey--2
Ffassarow - 6 houses5--
Balliarnon - 5 houses23-Ballyorney
Colekey - 6 houses32-Coulakay in Mod. Map



* Price’s article was published in The Journal of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, 1931, Vol. 1, No.2, pp. 164-178.