Enniskerry Carnegie Library
Enniskerry Library was built in 1911, after land was made available by Lord Powerscourt (8th Viscount). His father had made land available in the same plot thirty years before for a school, which can be seen in this photo. According to Brendan Grimes in his book on Carnegie Libraries, the application was made to the Carnegie trust in 1910 by A Chatterton at the Powerscourt Estate Office, and a grant of £600 was approved in July of that year. Notice appeared in The Irish Times in April 1909 about the intention to apply and in October 1910, Rathdown (No 2) Rural Council recorded their gratitude to Mr Chatterton and Lord Powerscourt for their donation of land.
Plans were drawn up by Rudolf Maximilian Butler and following requests for tender, Ted Archer from Greystones was commissioned to complete the build. (He would go on to build the Forrester’s Hall in Bray). The building was completed in 1912. Interestingly, the name of the library was changed during the build from Powerscourt to Enniskerry.
There is no mistaking the man responsible for the library however immortalised by the enormous Wingfield crest is over the doorway. The door itself is original panelled wood, and set in Queen Anne style stone surround. The library was renovated in 1986 and refurbished in 2006. It is one of the real gems of our village.